a réponse to the Orlando Massacre

by kat

I wish, I wish, I wish.Yesterday on a walk, I started thinking about the world in which we live in. It’s so beautiful, and yet so tragic. Tears fled to my eyes as I began to think of my LGBTQ brothers and sisters who were massacred not even a week ago. Even now, my heart is heavy as I think of the loss their neighborhoods and families-the world- is experiencing because they are no longer in it.

I wish this wasn’t “old news”. It is despicable how the media exploits people’s lives. As if to say 20 minutes of air time was all that a person is worth. I would argue their families would disagree. They will miss them for more than 20 minutes, 20 hours, 20 years. They will live the rest of their lives under a shadow of this event.

I wish more of the Christian community would stand up, and show how much we care for the lives of these people. I know Jesus mourns (present tense) for each one of them. I know Jesus mourns for the shooter and his family. I wish more of the Christian community would stand up and show how much we not just care for the lives that were lost, but those that are still living. That we could stand with the LGBTQ community. I understand that sometimes all we Christians know how to do is pray. It is praying that brings us peace and hope. However, it is not so with these brothers and sisters of ours. I have seen many comments frustrated with Christians for offering prayer. And how can we pass blame? I bet many in the LGBTQ community are actually well-acquainted with prayer. Praying for understanding, praying for change, praying for answers. Yet, many have never received understanding or answers. What they need from the Christian community is the unending support and love that our Savior would have given them. “And as you wish that others would do to you, do so to them.” I will take it a step further: And as others wish that you would do to them, do to them.  I think the LGBTQ community needs more than just our love, prayers, and support, I think they need our voice! I think we need to listen to them, and rally with them! It is for this reason, that I will join with them in crying for gun law reformation. NO, this does not mean that I think guns should be banned completely. YES, I do believe this means there should be policies set in place that make it harder for terrorists to get guns. I think one of things to be considered here is our consumption of oil, and who we are buying our oil from. But in reality… this is not an issue of gun violence. This is an issue violence stemming from hate and prejudice.

This act of violence.. of hatred.. grieves my soul. And honestly, I wish I could say that the massacre surprised me. But when I look at the world, I see a world in which its inhabitants have picked apart and destroyed the earth for its resources, its land, and its people with no regard for anyone or the creatures in it but one’s self.

When will we value the lives of others above our own? When will we put the needs of our brothers and sisters above ourselves? We are connected, to this earth and to each other. Let’s start acting like it.

I stand with the LGBTQ community as they long for restoration and peace.

